The Genesis Humanitarian Award is generally presented every two years at the Erev Thanksgiving Service. The Genesis Humanitarian Award promotes recognition of people and organizations whose actions exemplify the Genesis Vision and Spirit, that by embracing mutual trust, respect and appreciation of all people, and living the ideals of faith and inclusiveness, together we work to heal a broken world.

Over the years, some among us have stood out by devoting countless hours toward improving the Genesis relationships with which we are now blessed. Still others among us are deeply involved in a wide variety of social justice activities (homelessness, rotating shelter, refugee support) or are tireless volunteers at community service organizations. Out of the many worthy individuals in our community and our congregations, we seek to recognize those who inspire us all for the future which lies ahead. In the past the Genesis Humanitarian Award has been presented to the Christine Modey (2020), Jewish Family Services of Washtenaw County, Refugee Services Department (2018), Back Door Food Pantry (2017), Bob Milstein (2017), Irene Butter (2012), Richard Bailey (2010), James Schairbaum (2007), Judge Sandy Elden (2005), Phil Bowen (2003), Jackie Moor (2001), Bob Levy (1999), and Doug Evett (1997).

Nominating Instructions: A nomination for the Genesis Humanitarian Award shall consist of the following documentation.

  • A letter of nomination proposing the candidate which provides biographical and professional background and documentation supporting the presence of actions exemplifying the Genesis Vision, which are deserving of recognition by our faith communities.
  • Additional letters of support from others supporting the nomination are encouraged.

Address nominations to
Mike Wolf, Genesis Facility Coordinator
Genesis of Ann Arbor
2309 Packard Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Nominations will be accepted until Tuesday, November 1, 2022. Click here for a sample nomination letter.